Closed Thread

Old 01-10-2009, 05:00 PM   #1
jallen500

Model: 8330
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Synchronization Attempts Shut Down Computer

Please Login to Remove!

I have been using a Blackberry 8330 for about 3 months without any significant problems, but about a week ago, when I tried to sync with the computer, the computer started shutting down and rebooting, cycling through this repeatedly until I unplugged the Blackberry. The Blackberry is set up to use the BIS and there is no problem receiving emails. I am not very tech savvy, and really don't know what to consider next. I have checked to make sure that I have adequate memory. Nothing has changed re the computer. I have unplugged everything, waited, re-plugged in, and rebooted. Nothing helps. I am fairly certain this is a computer problem, since the Blackberry itself works the same as before. but does anyone have a thought about what I could do/check next?

Thanks for the help
Old 01-10-2009, 08:40 PM   #2
kjjb0204
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: 9630
Carrier: VZW

have you tried plugging your bb into another pc? or another bb into your pc? also try a battery pull on your bb, then connect to your pc again.
Old 01-10-2009, 09:29 PM   #3
jallen500

I pulled the battery, but when I reconnected, the computer shut down again. Using a different bb or pc will be a little trickier, but I'll work on that tomorrow. Thanks.
Old 01-10-2009, 10:29 PM   #4
monkeypaw

Model: None
Carrier: ATT

What OS are you using and how old is the computer?

Do you ever plug any other USB devices into the same USB ports?

Seems very odd that the PC would reboot even if the drivers were corrupted. Maybe there's some kind of hardware problem like a short or something. Try removing desktop manager and reinstalling it.
Old 01-11-2009, 02:22 PM   #5
jbs-horn

Model: 8310