Closed Thread

Old 04-09-2008, 08:00 AM   #1
kippaxblue

Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: o2
Default 02 and sat nav

Please Login to Remove!

Being a complete newb to blackberry and these excellent forums, I have a couple of questions about sat nav and gps. I am on the 02 blackberry unlimited plan for £10 a month and am curious as to which other gps apps i can use besides the standard blackberry maps without incurring extra charge. I have heard that google maps is good and that there are a couple of free apps with voice. can these be used on the 02 plan and also what should I set the default browsing mode to e.g. gprs edge etc. many thanks in advance
Old 04-09-2008, 08:42 AM   #2
JSanders
Crimson Tide Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: t low
Carrier: Verizon

Is yours an Unlimited Data Plan (I don't know O2 plans)? If so, any of the other GPS applications will work. Check out the GPS section of this forum for other GPS applications to try.
Old 04-11-2008, 04:04 AM   #3
kellydcarter
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8130
Carrier: Verizon

I don't know O2 plans, either, but I've recently scrutinized my plan with Verizon Wireless. It's called an "Email and Web" plan that is NOT their "unlimited" plan. However, it easily allows for generous use of apps like Google Maps. Verizon draws the line at excessive audio/video streaming. I've copied-and-pasted from my blog the terms of my plan, in case you care to scan it.

So, maybe O2 has a plan similar to the one I have.

--------------------------------------------------------
From the Verizon Wireless magazine Nov/Dec/Jan 2007-2008:

Email and Web for BlackBerry plan ($29.99 ):

This plan/feature may ONLY be used with certain BlackBerry devices for the following purposes:

(i) Web browsing and
(ii) POP3 and IMAP email.

This plan MAY NOT be used for any other purpose. Examples of prohibited uses include, without limitation, the following:

(i) continuous uploading, downloading or streaming of audio or video programming or games;