Old 02-18-2010, 08:40 AM   #1
Ina85

Model: 8110
PIN: N/A
Carrier: AT&T
Default Red blinking light and disconnected desktop

Please Login to Remove!

Hi

I just got my BlackBerry Pearl 8110 yesterday, so I'm brand new to this. I installed the Desktop and everything went fine. I was installing updates for my phone when suddently I got a message saying it could not find my phone.

Since then I've had the red blinking LED and my desktop says Desktop: Disconnected. When I plug in my BB, my USB finds it straight away. But I can get neither the desktop manager to recgonize the phone or the phone to work

I've tried taking the battery out and putting it back in, I've also tried to re-install the desktop manager.

Nothing works and it's getting kinda frustrating as I know nothing about BlackBerry's.

Any one got any ideas of what happened? Did my BlackBerry die?

Thanks

By the way: I'm using Windows 7 as my system.
Old 02-18-2010, 09:20 AM   #2
aiharkness
BlackBerry God

Model: BBPP
Carrier: T-Mobile USA

Wirelessly posted

Try different USB connections. Especially don't use a hub or connection on a keyboard, etc. If you are using a desktop pc, it has been advised to use a port on the back of the box. If you are using a laptop or netbook, try a desktop computer if you have one available.
Old 02-18-2010, 09:27 AM   #3
aiharkness
BlackBerry God

Wirelessly posted

Also, if you lost connection in the middle of an update and now your blackberry will not boot up, you will have to reinstall the OS. What do you see when you power on the device? If you see 507 error, then all you will need to do is install the OS.

If you have other issues, you'll need to wipe the device before you can install the OS. In that case, see

http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.p...ng_Jl_Cmder%3F

http://www.blackberryfaq.com/index.p...nnect_and_wipe
Old 02-18-2010, 08:50 PM   #4
Ina85

Model: 8110
Carrier: AT&T

Hi Ira