BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-19-2006, 05:57 PM   #1
josecsm
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8800
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 8
Default icon on home page without BEs

Please Login to Remove!

Is there any way to put an icon (link to a web page) on the main desktop if you dont have a bes (you cant do a push) and without signing your code (no JDE)

¿can use MIDP 2.0?
Offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:06 AM   #2
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

give me 30minutes and i'll post a codesigned app to do this.
Offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 09:36 AM   #3
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

k, i've got an app ready but this stupid stupid forum won't let me post a url as i have under 10 posts, if anyone wants a web shortcut app email [email address]

cheers,
jon
Offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 05:55 PM   #4
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

Ok I wrote to jon to help him out in posting the link since he cant and this is his response to me:

Hello, excellent:

http://sundaracommunications.net/dow...y/shortcut.zip

is just a little quick hack, install it with the desktop manager, when you first run it hit escape and enter a url including http://
from then on it'll act just like a shortcut. only downside is you have to hit escape twice instead of once to exit the browser as the app sits underneath; when in use though this isn't a problem.

can you add a note just saying if anyone finds it useful to email me (sundara.uk@gmail.com) and let me know, would be good to know if folk use it.

cheers,
jon
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524
Offline  
Old 04-21-2006, 06:13 PM   #5
juwaack68
iPhone Convert
 
juwaack68's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Tulip City - MI
Model: iP5
OS: 6.0.2
PIN: to beans
Carrier: I'm not
Posts: 13,878
Default

Very cool - thanks for your efforts, jon.

Any way to be able to paste in a URL rather than having to type it?
__________________
No longer a BES Admin, but it was fun while it lasted!
Offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 08:34 AM   #6
RaGe
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: LYON
Model: 8310
OS: 4.5.0.81
Carrier: SFR
Posts: 37
Default

Thank's I'll test this now, we can change icon ?
Offline  
Old 04-23-2006, 10:11 PM   #7
josecsm
New Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Model: 8800
Carrier: vodafone
Posts: 8
Default signed!

Ok but how have you done that? your app is signed so i supposs it uses APIs from RIM ¿or not?
Offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:03 AM   #8
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

yeah, i'm a blackberry developer so have access to codesigning.
Offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:05 AM   #9
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by juwaack68
Very cool - thanks for your efforts, jon.

Any way to be able to paste in a URL rather than having to type it?
probably; i think a richtextfield allows pasting, i'm currently using a basiceditfield which does not. will check.
Offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 11:11 PM   #10
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire
 
KonTiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: NJ, USA
Model: 9650
OS: 6.0.0.524
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon
Posts: 2,762
Default

What if you want more than one shortcut, do you just add several urls and then choose among them or do you just install the application several times?
__________________
BB Tour 9650


Running OS 6.0.0.524

Last edited by KonTiki; 04-30-2006 at 02:48 AM..
Offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 08:31 AM   #11
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

i've given multiple instances some thought and can't think of an elegant solution.

the blackberry datastore for an application is held in an objetc with a (hopefully unique key generated by converting a string of text into a long, i always include random numbers in my string to increase it's uniqueness:

//urlStoreHash9386719181919191
//0x6fcedeb76b0f7d7aL
urlStore = PersistentStore.getPersistentObject(0x6fcedeb76b0f 7d7aL);

i can't think of a way that multiple instances of the same application could differentiate between their own url's and that of another instance. if we had a traditional file system it wouldnt be a problem; each instance would have it's own directory and resource file, but with the java model this isn't possible.

you could have multiple instances compiled with a different key for the store but that's no good for the end user, will attempt some mental gymnastic and see if i can come up with a solution.
Offline  
Old 04-30-2006, 02:32 AM   #12
timmyc123
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Model: 8820
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 107
Default

Hello, great program!

Is there a way to change the icon (use a custom icon)?

Thanks
Tim
Offline  
Old 05-02-2006, 07:45 AM   #13
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyc123
Is there a way to change the icon (use a custom icon)?
as far as i'm aware that's just not possible on blackberry.
Offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 01:47 AM   #14
timmyc123
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Rhode Island
Model: 8820
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 107
Default

There has to be a way in the code to do it because how did it get its current icon!
Offline  
Old 05-03-2006, 09:09 AM   #15
jfisher
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Manchester, UK
Model: BOLD
Carrier: t-mobile
Posts: 714
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by timmyc123
There has to be a way in the code to do it because how did it get its current icon!
the icon is set from the ide, it's not actually done in code. there is a homescreen class that allows manipulation of the icon but this is only to mimic the icon changes that rim applications have (change on rollover) and the icon must already be part of the .cod package. if it is possible i can't see how and it certainly would be no small job.

it's a shame, it would be nice for users to be able to set their own icons. it may be possible to open the .cod file using a zip utility (7-zip should work) and alter the image files and then resaving the archive but i've not tried it.
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


REPLACEMENT LCD FOR SAMSUNG DISPLAY UNIT DBM-091 PLEASE READ DESCRIPTION picture

REPLACEMENT LCD FOR SAMSUNG DISPLAY UNIT DBM-091 PLEASE READ DESCRIPTION

$479.97



Samsung OfficeServ ITP-5121D Phone System New Unused Open Box-RPB1 picture

Samsung OfficeServ ITP-5121D Phone System New Unused Open Box-RPB1

$99.99



SAMSUNG OfficeServ 7100 4SWM Data Transmission/Reception Board KPOS71BSWM/XAR picture

SAMSUNG OfficeServ 7100 4SWM Data Transmission/Reception Board KPOS71BSWM/XAR

$130.00



Samsung DCS 24B LCD Phone with Stand Display Business Black (Lot of 4) picture

Samsung DCS 24B LCD Phone with Stand Display Business Black (Lot of 4)

$49.99



Genuine SAMSUNG Range Oven Relay Board DG92-01207D picture

Genuine SAMSUNG Range Oven Relay Board DG92-01207D

$99.95



Samsung, KM2816A-25, Integrated Circuit, New, Lot of 15 picture

Samsung, KM2816A-25, Integrated Circuit, New, Lot of 15

$225.00







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.