BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 09-22-2004, 05:16 PM   #1
Dev2100
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default RIM Device Connection to Outside world Bypassing BEnterprise

Please Login to Remove!

Guys I am New to RIM Environment but I am trying to get myself involved in RIM development its very Intresting.
Now question I have is I am using RIM 6710 (T Mobile with T zone enabled) device and I wrote small J2ME UDP client and Plain Java UDP server which is hosted and available on internet. Now I do not want to route my UDP request thru BES i simply want to bypass the BES
while creating UDP Connection I used the connection string given by RIM documentaion "udp://XXX.XXX.XXX.94:5029;6343/wap.voicestream.com"; But I am not geting anything or my client was not able to send any message to UDP server ;I tested UDP server with plain java UDP client it works but seems it is not working with RIM Client. Guys any soultion for this?
-Dev2100
[/b]
Offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 05:54 PM   #2
emale
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
emale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8800
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 156
Default

Is the firewall enabled? (on the BlackBerry)

If it is enabled did you get prompted to accept the connection?
Offline  
Old 09-22-2004, 06:46 PM   #3
eradis
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Default

Make sure T-Mobile supports UDP. UDP is not a mandatory support protocol, only http is ( MIDP 1.0 ).
Offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:41 AM   #4
Dev2100
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Hi
On device Firewall is enable.But I am not sure about Tmobole UDP is open on there WAP gatway? How do I know that? How can Findout?

Following is the email from Mark
Yes Today On Nextel
(using BlackberryOS 3.6 or later)
(Recommended to get Nextel static IP address for phone)

Soon On Rogers
(Works now but needs BlackberryOS 4.0 or later;
not available till November)

Not yet on other carriers
(They will need to upgrade to BWC 4.0 servers
and your Blackberry needs to be upgraded to
BlackberryOS 4.0)

Thanks,
Mark Rejhon

Mark Thanks for the reply but I am trying with Tmobile is there any way I can findout that UDP is available or what other things I need to know beofre using UDP with Tmobile WAP gateway.
I installed reqWireless wabviewer and I am using WAP gatway to connect internet. How I can chk weather they have UDP port support enable.

Thaks Guys...
Offline  
Old 09-23-2004, 10:45 AM   #5
eradis
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Model: 8700r
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 221
Default

Best bet is too try http connection and get that working. Then change and try UDP - error message should provide more detail.

2nd call or emial t-mobile. I do not know how good there technical support is?

From my experiance anything other than http is probably not supported via WAP gateway but only via BES-MDS.
Offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 10:54 AM   #6
Dev2100
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

I am using RIM6710 device ;T mobile is GPRS carrier provider and having Blackberry unlimited data plan ( $ 39.99).I do not have BES or MDS installed anywhere.I am trying J2ME UDP connectivity on this device.
I wrote J2ME udp client which will send message to UDP server hosted on remote machine 206.XXX.XXX.XX on port 5029 no issue of firewall or DMZ or UDP server because I tested UDP server by sending message from Plain Java Client application using internet connection.
Following is midlets code snippet which create UDP socket to send message.

Code:
    
     String address = "udpxxx58;//206.XXX.XXX.XXxxx58;5029;6343/wap.voicestream.com";
    try  xxx123;   

         dc = xxx40;DatagramConnectionxxx41; Connector.openxxx40;addressxxx41;;
         sendDatagram = dc.newDatagramxxx40;
         dc.getMaximumLengthxxx40;xxx41;, addressxxx41;;
         receiveDatagram = dc.newDatagramxxx40;dc.getMaximumLengthxxx40;xxx41;xxx41;;

     xxx125; xxxxxxxxxxx
Xxxxxxxxxxxx
Xxxxxxxxxx
I am expecting this code to send message to udp server on remote UDPO server and get response back on RIM device.
Now first question is.
Is it the connection string is correct??
"udp://206.XXX.XXX.XX:5029;6343/wap.voicestream.com";
Also I am not sure about “6343” this I just added as a place holder; as I got this connection format from JDE documents. So I am not sure How I can get response back on the device? On which port? on which IP?
I read somewhere that it not possible to get response back on device because device has no IP so RIM uses device PIN to identify device and communicate.
But in my case I can not send message also.I tried APN as “/blackberry.net “ but same issue.
One more important as in J2ME docs they use
“datagram://206.XXX.XXX.XX:5029” while creating the connection so when I use
“datagram://206.XXX.XXX.XX:5029;6343/wap.voicestream.com"; in my client application my application allows me to type message but it never reaches to server.
But when I use “udp://206.XXX.XXX.XX:5029;6343/wap.voicestream.com" in connection string ;in this case when I try to open the application on my BB it completely freeze the device. Any one know why?????????
Questions in my Mind now is this application possible on 6710
Is there any device constraints?
Is there any Carrier Constraints?
Where is the Problem??

-Dev2100

[Edited by Mark Rejhon: Added CODE tags for formatting source code]
Offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 11:30 AM   #7
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

Is there any device constraints? - Yes.
Is there any Carrier Constraints? - Yes.
It is my understanding that running arbitrary sockets is not possible (not even UDP either) unless:

(1) Running BES/MDS; or
(2) Using Nextel/Telus iDEN carrier; or
(3) Running BlackberryOS 4.0 on a carrier running BWC 4.0 server software (Currently Rogers works, if you manage to get your hands on BlackberryOS 4.0 ... but most other carriers have not upgraded their BWC server software yet. Expect this to gradually happen November, and become more widespread in early 2005)

There is no programmable sockets capability (TCP/IP or UDP) on BlackBerry otherwise, unless you meet one of the above criteria.

You MUST meet either (1) or (2) or (3) before it works.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 04:05 PM   #8
Dev2100
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 11
Default

Thanks Mark
-Dev2100
Offline  
Old 09-24-2004, 04:11 PM   #9
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

At this moment in time, by the end of 2004, we will have fully included TCP/IP stack equivalents on these networks:

Nextel (been there for a long time; tested)
Rogers (already works with OS 4.0 beta; tested)
T-Mobile (as they upgraded BWC to support the 7100t)

For other carriers, I am not sure. But I know T-Mobile is probably going to be the first USA carrier to release BlackberryOS 4.0 .... I believe Cingular will be next after T-Mobile.
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 10-14-2004, 10:11 PM   #10
Mark Rejhon
Retired BBF Moderator
 
Mark Rejhon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Model: Bold
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 4,870
Default

Useful info found:
Quote:
Originally Posted by fcernese
//Here is the basic's, Put your connect, read, and write in seperate threads...

DatagramConnection mCon;
String location;
Datagram mData;

// yes your source and destination ports need to be the same

location = "udp://"+host+":"+port+";"+port+"/"+mUserAPN;

//for CDMA, you don't need the apn. For t-mobile use:
//wap.voicestream.com, for at&t: proxy

//connect
mCon= (DatagramConnection) Connector.open(location);

// read
mData = mCon.newDatagram(mRead.getMaximumLength());
mCon.receive(mData);


//write
Datagram data = mCon.newDatagram(len);
data.setData(buffer, 2, len);
mCon.send(data);


I don't need if you need more info, but just ask.

Frank
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kiran
Yes it is 100% possible to send UDP message to
Remotely hosted UDP server bypassing BES using T-mobile or AT&T wap gateway.Important is while writing Client application you have to write seperate thread for sending data and receiving data as well as seperate GUI application thread for reading the data.Use "udp" in connection string follow the Guideline given in RIM Java Developer Guide #2
You do not need BWC version 4.0 or MIDP 2.0
Only issue is NAT address translation on wireless carrier gateway means when device send message to server server assign Dynamic IP to the device so when server reply to the device using same IP. But this IP life is limited upto session is live and upto certain time limit say 5 min on T-mobile wap gateway so if server try to send message on same IP after this time limit;deveice will not receive this.So True serever side appliaction is not possible without BES but client initiated server
side push is possible.
-Kiran
__________________
Thanks,
Mark Rejhon
Author of XMPP extension XEP-0301:
www.xmpp.org/extensions/xep-0301.html - specification
www.realjabber.org - open source
Offline  
Old 10-22-2004, 11:45 AM   #11
tliou
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 23
Default

I have similar experience trying to port an app to 7100t. Tzones services actually blocks port 8080. As a result, I had to change to port 80 to get things going.
Offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 12:38 PM   #12
pssmith
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Model: 7290
Posts: 1
Default

I am having a similar experience with a 7290 and cingular service. Does anyone know if cingular now supports 3rd party udp connections on the blackberry.net APN?
Offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:56 PM   #13
knifegun
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 28
Default

Has anyone gotten UDP to work on Cingular? I tried using "proxy" as the APN w/o success:

http://host:port,port/proxy

On TMobile, it works using:

http://host:port,port/wap.voicestream.com
Offline  
Old 04-11-2007, 11:58 PM   #14
knifegun
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 28
Default

Has anyone gotten UDP to work on Cingular? I tried using "proxy" as the APN w/o success:

http://host:port,port/proxy

On TMobile, it works using:

http://host:port,port/wap.voicestream.com
Offline  
Old 04-29-2007, 10:24 PM   #15
knifegun
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Model: 8100
Carrier: TMobile
Posts: 28
Default

Anyone?
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


KEYENCE LR-TB5000CL Laser Sensor with Built-in Amplifier picture

KEYENCE LR-TB5000CL Laser Sensor with Built-in Amplifier

$289.99



Portable Voice Amplifier, Towevine Rechargeable Microphone Speaker picture

Portable Voice Amplifier, Towevine Rechargeable Microphone Speaker

$14.99



Biamp Tesira AMP-450BP AVB/TSN Enabled 4 Channel Amplifier w/ PoE+ (G155) picture

Biamp Tesira AMP-450BP AVB/TSN Enabled 4 Channel Amplifier w/ PoE+ (G155)

$250.00



Phoenix Contact MACX MCR-EX-SL-2NAM-T Ex i NAMUR isolating amplifier - 2-chan... picture

Phoenix Contact MACX MCR-EX-SL-2NAM-T Ex i NAMUR isolating amplifier - 2-chan...

$296.32



Rechargeable Voice Amplifier Microphone Headset Speaker Teacher Meeting Speech picture

Rechargeable Voice Amplifier Microphone Headset Speaker Teacher Meeting Speech

$16.14



Honeywell Ultraviolet Flame Amplifier RM7890 A 1015 picture

Honeywell Ultraviolet Flame Amplifier RM7890 A 1015

$199.99







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.