BlackBerry Forums Support Community
              

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-16-2007, 10:56 AM   #1
eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 21
Default MDS Server simulator

Please Login to Remove!

Hi

i am new to all the BB development but it is fun and i am really enjoying it.
i am using the BB VS plugin and developed an application that uses Web services to display data.

i want to use the MDS server simulator and present that application using my BB device (not device simulator).

i installed the MDS server simulator on my local machine for now and i can see the start page of the MDS server, but i cannot see any configuration i can do or any way to connect my device to it.

i don't see alos any administration links to it.

i need to understand the steps of using the MDS simulator so i can publish my application and use it on my device.

also how can i connect my device to that MDS server.

thanks in advance,
eyal
__________________
eyal
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 08:47 AM   #2
brcewane
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Default

Not sure if that is going to be possible... There are two different parts of MDS. One is the regular MDS that is the connection services for connecting your device with your corporate LAN. This is the software that you downloaded.

The second part is the MDS Services, which is what is used to store and publish MDS Runtime applications that are created in the VS Plugin. I believe they call this the "Registry" and "Repository" from the publishing screens in the VS Plugin.

The connection services acts as the gateway from the device to talk to the MDS Services to download and install applications.

So if you do get your device connected to the MDS server simulator, you will still need to find a way to get your device to talk through it to a MDS Services server that has your VS Plugin application on it.

The easiest way to test it on a device is to publish the application to your BES that you can make sure that MDS Services is installed on. Then you can get the application out and on your device.

In general the MDS Runtime applications are required to be deployed into a BES environment so you pretty much need a BES to test your application on a real device.

Last edited by brcewane; 10-17-2007 at 09:10 AM..
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 09:33 AM   #3
eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 21
Default

Thank you for the information and your quick reply.

my problem is that our company BES is hosted by a different company that host many companies on the same BES so they are not willing to do so.

is there another way i can write an application that is undepended in the MDS and still consume web services? i want to install it on my device for a presentation.

thanks again
Eyal
__________________
eyal

Last edited by eyalo; 10-17-2007 at 09:34 AM..
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 09:48 AM   #4
brcewane
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Default

You would have to write a Java application to do something that is totally un-reliant on the MDS. In the Java application you would have to use your carrieer's APN instead of the Blackberry one.

There are a few threads on here where people were using some Java code for webservices.

However if you want to host a webservice on a machine that is inside your corporate firewall, you must have an MDS server (not the MDS Services part of it) to perform the communications.

If your device is already paired with a BES (and it sounds like it is), I don't think you can pair your device to two servers, so I don't think you will be able to get your device to talk to your MDS Server simulator.

You can do a quick and easy check to see if your device can actually hit the webservice you are trying to use by putting the path to the WSDL file into your blackberry browser on the device and see if it can reach it.
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 09:59 AM   #5
eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 21
Default

i can get to my web service from my BlackBerry browser.

i understand that i need to do a java application probably using the "BlackBerry Java Development Environment"

but before i get down to do it is it possible to get the jar file that was created by the "BlackBerry VS plugin" and load it to the java development environment and just compile it there?

if yes do i need to do any special changes or configuration to verify that it will use the jar properly?

thanks
eyal
__________________
eyal
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:23 PM   #6
brcewane
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Default

The jar file that is created by the BlackBerry VS plugin contains MDS Runtime files which are a combination of XML and JavaScript and are interpreted by the MDS Runtime software on the device (An optional module)

These aren't Java compatible files. If you get the JDE, you will have to write your application again from scratch in Java.
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:45 PM   #7
eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 21
Default

thanks again,

since i start all over i have some questions regarding to java.

is there a way to work with the eclipse and the BB JDE?
is there a good tool to create the screens in java?

thanks again for all your help,
eyal
__________________
eyal
Offline  
Old 10-17-2007, 12:49 PM   #8
brcewane
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Model: 8100
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Rogers
Posts: 140
Default

Once it starts to go into the Java world, I start to have less and less info for you

I know that some people are using Eclipse and the BB JDE in a kind of hybrid mode and I don't know of any screen designer for BB Java.. a search on this board or posting some specific questions will likely get you further than what I can answer.

Best of luck
Offline  
Old 10-18-2007, 02:24 AM   #9
simon.hain
CrackBerry Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: hamburg, germany
Model: 8900
Carrier: o2
Posts: 838
Default

i don't know of any tool used to create screens, helps a lot if you write your own extension of the mainscreen class and use it as a basis though.

as far as eclipse and the JDE merge i have no problems as long as i work my files in a single project. pretty sure you can go further but i am a bit lost with the ant-files.
just make a search for eclipse in the forums and you'll digg out the step-for-step guide which is quite easy to follow even without knowing what you are doing
__________________
java developer, Devinto, hamburg/germany
Offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 09:19 AM   #10
eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 21
Default

thank you very much for you help guys.

i succeeded using the eclipse and thr BB simulator but i am getting strange errors for undefined classes that are in the net_rim_api.jar file, he can see and use the classes but when i am trying to compile i am getting the following error:

"The type net.rim.device.internal.ui.Cursor cannot be resolved it is indirectly referenced from required .class file"

thanks in advance,
eyal
__________________
eyal
Offline  
Old 10-25-2007, 09:54 AM   #11
eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Posts: 21
Default

Looks like all I had to do was change the Eclipse java compiler settings from the default of 5.0 to 1.3.
__________________
eyal
Offline  
Old 11-15-2007, 10:32 AM   #12
fraja
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Model: 7100T
PIN: N/A
Carrier: N/A
Posts: 1
Default

Thank you eyalo for coming back with the answer to your question, changing to 1.3 compiler also helped me out too!
Offline  
Old 01-04-2008, 06:13 AM   #13
jenselense
Thumbs Must Hurt
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: atm: Kunming norm: Berlin
Model: 8700v
PIN: N/A
Carrier: ChinaMobile
Posts: 55
Default


me too
Offline  
Closed Thread



Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


4 Count Case GE ProLine 2 Bulb 120V T12 Electronic Fluorescent Light Ballasts picture

4 Count Case GE ProLine 2 Bulb 120V T12 Electronic Fluorescent Light Ballasts

$49.99



NEW Lutron H3DT528CU210 Electronic Dimming Ballast Fluorescent 28W 2 Lamp picture

NEW Lutron H3DT528CU210 Electronic Dimming Ballast Fluorescent 28W 2 Lamp

$299.99



Ballast Box 3 Pt Hitch 800LBS Counterweight for Cat 1 Tractor Steel Heavy Duty picture

Ballast Box 3 Pt Hitch 800LBS Counterweight for Cat 1 Tractor Steel Heavy Duty

$189.99



Philips ADVANCE AmbiStar RELB-2S40-N Replacement Ballast 40-Watt 2-Lamp T12 picture

Philips ADVANCE AmbiStar RELB-2S40-N Replacement Ballast 40-Watt 2-Lamp T12

$18.79



Accupro 703-00004-001  1 or 2 lamp T12 Rapid-Start Electronic Ballast  picture

Accupro 703-00004-001 1 or 2 lamp T12 Rapid-Start Electronic Ballast

$8.50



Universal B332IUNVHP-A010C Electronic Ballast for (2 or 3) F32T8 Lamps picture

Universal B332IUNVHP-A010C Electronic Ballast for (2 or 3) F32T8 Lamps

$13.99







Copyright © 2004-2016 BlackBerryForums.com.
The names RIM © and BlackBerry © are registered Trademarks of BlackBerry Inc.