eyalo
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 8700g
PIN: N/A
Carrier: T-Mobile
Default MDS Server simulator

Please Login to Remove!

Hi

i am new to all the BB development but it is fun and i am really enjoying it.
i am using the BB VS plugin and developed an application that uses Web services to display data.

i want to use the MDS server simulator and present that application using my BB device (not device simulator).

i installed the MDS server simulator on my local machine for now and i can see the start page of the MDS server, but i cannot see any configuration i can do or any way to connect my device to it.

i don't see alos any administration links to it.

i need to understand the steps of using the MDS simulator so i can publish my application and use it on my device.

also how can i connect my device to that MDS server.

thanks in advance,
eyal
Old 10-17-2007, 08:47 AM   #2
brcewane
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8100
Carrier: Rogers

Not sure if that is going to be possible... There are two different parts of MDS. One is the regular MDS that is the connection services for connecting your device with your corporate LAN. This is the software that you downloaded.

The second part is the MDS Services, which is what is used to store and publish MDS Runtime applications that are created in the VS Plugin. I believe they call this the "Registry" and "Repository" from the publishing screens in the VS Plugin.

The connection services acts as the gateway from the device to talk to the MDS Services to download and install applications.

So if you do get your device connected to the MDS server simulator, you will still need to find a way to get your device to talk through it to a MDS Services server that has your VS Plugin application on it.

The easiest way to test it on a device is to publish the application to your BES that you can make sure that MDS Services is installed on. Then you can get the application out and on your device.