BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 06-18-2009, 10:03 PM   #1
Analog-X64

Model: 8310
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Bell
Default Domino/BES Server Maintenance Advice needed.

Please Login to Remove!

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the BES server, and as such I dont know what are the regular maintenance tasks I should perform on a regular basis.

So far the only thing I've been doing is archiving the log files from my Domino/BES Server.

This past week I ran into trouble, I moved a SIM card from a Busted BB to a new one and did the enterprise activation. Everything seemed fine, except some of the entrys in the address book didnt port over. I called my provider and talked to their BB Support and they refered me to "kb02207" on running Fixup, Updall and Compact tasks on my Domino server. But honestly I find the instructions there a bit lacking.

What I'm not sure about is the which files to run these fixups on. The users Mail\filename.nsf?? or blackberryoutbox.nsf, bbdir.snf, bbstats.nsf?

The tech support suggested there might be corruption for this user.

the kb02207 also shows doing this offline (notes server shutdown) and online but I cant simply shutdown my mail server it is being used constantly.

So anyone have a list of regular Maintenance I can do, so I dont run into this type of problem again?

Any pruning / cleaning I need to do on a regular basis?

Thanks.
Old 06-20-2009, 07:33 AM   #2
Analog-X64

So any suggestions on cleaning up and maintaining my BES Server on a regular basis?
Old 06-20-2009, 10:17 AM   #3
SteveO86
BlackBerryForums.com Super Moderator

Model: 9650
PIN: I heard it drop!
Carrier: VZW BIS

That KB Article should have instructions for online maintenance.. as well.

Eventually you will need to schedule downtime.. It just has to happen, and your BES will "always" be doing something. May want to schedule BES downtime during the work day, when most of your users are in the office with access to email on their desktop.