BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 05-30-2006, 12:18 PM   #1
Starkad
Knows Where the Search Button Is

Model: 7100t
Default Can data be recovered off a blackberry?

Please Login to Remove!

Some background on this (today has been a nightmare)...

I just started for this company about 5 weeks ago as a blackberry admin, my predecessor was... inept. My company deals with PHI (patient health info), which is extremely confidential. We had a VP that was storing PHI on his blackberry (without telling us, and without setting a password on his blackberry...I've been pushing this as a priority project since the minute I walked in the door.). He lost this blackberry. Enter the Compliance department.

They are now GRILLING me on these things. I, of course, sent a poison pill to the bb handheld unit, but given that it was a 7280, and on a very old software rev (3.6 or 3.7 is my guess), I can't tell if it hit. Given this, they are now asking if forensic data retrieval could be used to get 'deleted information' from the unit. In other words, if the pill went through, could data be retrieved? I would assume no, since the memory on the unit is volatile, and would be deleted permanently. They also want to know if there's a third party app, or a setting/report somewhere that can verify if a handheld is wiped or not.

I've already put together a project to get every handheld in the company upgraded to 4.1, but it will take time, as I am the only person here that can do it. I've also got a project to set passwords... However, in the meantime, I need to deal with the fallout of this lost bb unit.

If anyone can point me to some place I can find this info, it would be greatly appreciated. I've tried searching around, but have come up empty so far.

Thanks in advance,
Mike
Old 05-30-2006, 12:36 PM   #2
KonTiki
BlackBerry Extraordinaire

Model: 9650
PIN: 007
Carrier: Verizon