BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 06-04-2006, 10:48 AM   #1
brianodell

Model: none
Default BRAND NEW to the BB scene..

Please Login to Remove!

I'm currently in Metro-Detroit area, MI and have had Nextel for 5+yrs. I'm looking into getting a BB in a few days. I'll use the device for my business, so I'll need to take advantage of the features of the BB, and GOOD voice...

??

what BB models are better than the others? and does anyone have any experience in my area w/signal / voice??

a. stick w/nextel
b. switch to sprint
c. totally get out of the sprint nextel co, and switch to: verizon? tmobile? cingular??

Just looking for opinions...I'm BRAND NEW to the blackberry scene...

Thanks!!
Old 06-04-2006, 11:09 AM   #2
InPocket
Talking BlackBerry Encyclopedia

Model: 8330
Carrier: VZW
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by brianodell
I'm currently in Metro-Detroit area, MI and have had Nextel for 5+yrs. I'm looking into getting a BB in a few days. I'll use the device for my business, so I'll need to take advantage of the features of the BB, and GOOD voice...

??

what BB models are better than the others? and does anyone have any experience in my area w/signal / voice??

a. stick w/nextel
b. switch to sprint
c. totally get out of the sprint nextel co, and switch to: verizon? tmobile? cingular??

Just looking for opinions...I'm BRAND NEW to the blackberry scene...

Thanks!!

I was going to startup a new thread similar to this. I am in the same boat as you - except im coming from a different smartphone..the xv6700. Ive narrowed it down to the 8700g on the T-Mobile channel. I also did a review of the service and it didnt miss the Verizon rating by much, which was nice. On top of that, it won the JD Powers and Associates award for wireless tech for the past 3 years.

I guess my question is the same as yours - for national coverage, especially NY/NJ..and detroit (and ill be going to vegas soon), is T-Mobile reliable? do YOU get bars when traveling?