BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 10-13-2006, 01:15 AM   #1
dex
Thumbs Must Hurt

Model: 8703e
Carrier: Telus
Default Help me develop software you want.

Please Login to Remove!

I work for the largest 1x cellular provider in North America and my job requires me to do a lot of things I don't want to do. But my employer is recognizing my ability to program software and for a few hours a week I get to develop and maintain the call tracking software they have there.
Anyway, this is besides the point, but I'm a java developer and when I mentioned to my manager that I want to make a software development position within the company and move into it full time, he simply asked me to make a business proposal and show it to him and his manager. So I was thinking about coding internal applications, but tonight I realized a lot of the Blackberry software is actually written in java and C, so I figure it won't be too hard for me to write my own java applications. And maybe even convince the company to distribute and support these applications for clients. But I have a few questions to ask in order to do up my proposal.

1. Which kinds of applications would people like to see officially offered and supported by their carrier?
2. How much do you spend a month on purchasing said applications?
3. I'm great at java, would I need to know many other languages?

I studied onject oriented development at the top university in the country and have worked on a number of projects so far, I don't imagine it'd be a huge leap. Any other ideas? I'll post more questions as I have them.
Old 10-13-2006, 06:21 PM   #2
bobtaylor

Model: 7250
Default pdf viewer

Hi / pdf viewers that work / also doc / excel viewer that work / total need for that. access to windows somehow
Old 10-13-2006, 11:46 PM   #3
dex
Thumbs Must Hurt