BlackBerry Forums Support Community

Closed Thread

Old 10-16-2006, 09:44 PM   #1
rkneller

Model: 8100
Carrier: cingular
Default newbie to bb from treo forgive me I'm trying

Please Login to Remove!

Excuse my ignorance, but I’m new to BB. I just purchased a bb 8100 and I’m trying to convert from a palm treo (which crashed on me). I ran the switch device wizard and was able to get my contacts and calendar information on to my bb 8100 however since then my voice dial icon although still there does not do anything when I click on it. I also wanted to now set up my sync to work with my groupwise (were going to outlook soon) here at work for calendar only(would like to do just personal contacts as well) but when I go into the sync configuration and click on calendar / choose the only option that does not have the OK button grayed out is <None> and ASCII Importer/Exporter. All other selections have the OK buttone gray. This is making me think the fact that I did the switch device wizard has locked me out of the other options. I thought about erasing the device software and starting over but I’m not sure I have the device software on my desktop and I’m having trouble finding it. My device manager properties say I have 4.2.0.7…..

New guy wanting to become a crackberry addict…..
Old 10-17-2006, 11:41 AM   #2
bb-mike
Thumbs Must Hurt

Carrier: Rogers
Default New from Treo To

I am also new to the Pearl from the Treo. I'm no expert yet but here's my take.

I thought the switch device wizard was to go from a old Blackberry to a new Blackberry.

What I did when I switched:

Uninstalled all Treo software.

Installed Blackberry software.

Synced items I wanted to with my outlook.

It all worked perfectly without a hitch.

I unless I can't avoid it - I never let two different company's sync software play with each other.
Old 10-17-2006, 01:53 PM   #3
rkneller

Default reply