Old 09-29-2007, 03:30 PM   #1
cuisinartoh

Model: 8830
PIN: N/A
Carrier: Verizon
Default Complete, total newbie to BB

Please Login to Remove!

Hello all,

We our a small business that will start with 5 BB users and probably never go over 10. We use Verizon and will likely all get the 8830 BB. I'm the lucky one to set everything up. I'm a unix guy from way back, but don't much at all about Windows. We'll be using our BB's with Exchange 2003.

We want bi-directional syncing of our email, calendar, notes, tasks, etc. Must I install a BES or is there an another way? All the setup of BES for just 5 users seems a bit overkill, but I think it's necessary for all the bi-directional features, yes?

I was thinking that if we had to go with a BES that I'd use the express edition and buy 4 additional CALs.

Any pointers for a total newbie?

Thanks!
Old 09-29-2007, 03:40 PM   #2
John Clark
BBF Moderator

Model: Z30
PIN: s & needles
Carrier: AT&T

I'm not a BES admin but I do know that you need BES in order to have full wireless sync of all your data.
Old 09-29-2007, 07:20 PM   #3
Aroc
CrackBerry Addict

Model: 9000
PIN: 20878533
Carrier: ATT

I initially set up a BES server for just one user. As long as there is sufficient business need, you don't need to worry about it being overkill for 5 users. I don't see you accomplishing this any other way (unless you go the route of a different handheld). The BES is really a robust solution and it is set-and-forget in many installations. Coming from a Unix background I'm sure you can appreciate that.

Be aware that email is not true "sync" per se, email is first pushed then reconciled. Functionally this is similar to a sync, but you don't get all of you old historical emails. When you activate the device you can select to prepopulate 14 days worth (up to 750 messages). But PIM data (minus the company address book, which is available via lookup in the GAL) IS synchronized in both directions over the air. This is great.